What is OSI model?Explain 7 layers of OSI model.

What is the OSI model? Explain 7 layers of OSI model.

What is OSI Model:

As you know, there are n number of computer network users. These users use computer networks all over the world.
In this way, there must be a standard way to communicate national and worldwide people. So ISO develops a standard known as the OSI/ISO model.
However, ISO stands for the International Organization of Standardization. All layers should perform their functions. Each layer has specific tasks that are defined by international standardized protocols. Every layer has its boundaries for the flow of data.

OSI stands for Open System Interconnection. This model consists of 7 layers of the OSI model, as given below.

7 layers of the OSI model:

  • Application Layer
  • Presentation Layer
  • Session Layer
  • Transport Layer
  • Network Layer
  • Data-link Layer
  • Physical Layer

All the detail of the above mention layers is given in this website.

Below you can see the complete representation of the OSI/ISO model.



Features of OSI Model:

All aspects of communication over network is understandable with the help of OSI/ISO model.

  • OSI model show how software and hardware work together.
  • You can understand new technologies for communication.
  • Troubleshooting of network is very easy.
  • You can use OSI model to compare basic function with other networks.

Diagram of 7 layers of OSI model


7 layers of OSI model

There are many other helping materials about a computer. You can visit the website for useful information and technology.

You can find:

Who is scrum master?All scrum master job description.

What are 7 stages of system development life cycle?

What is spiral model?Advantages and Disadvantages of spiral model.